Dateline

Starred activities are in-class participation activities for which attendance is required.

Day Date Activity Assignment Out Assignment Due
Aug 30 Thu Course Overview;
Web Applications in Java
   
Sep 5 Wed Web Applications in Java HW1: RESTful server  
Sep 10 Mon Requirements; git   Project group formation
Sep 12 Wed *Project Requirements Lab Project Iteration 1  
Sep 17 Mon JavaScript front-ends HW2: JavaScript and git HW1
Sep 19 Wed *Project Requirements Lab    
Sep 24 Mon Design HW3: Design HW2
Sep 26 Wed *Project Requirements Lab Project Iteration 2 Iteration 1
Oct 1 Mon *Project Requirements Review;
*Project Design Lab
  HW3
Oct 3 Wed Design and Coding Principles HW4: Design Principles  
Oct 8 Mon *Project Design Lab    
Oct 10 Wed Implementation and Testing Project Iteration 3 Iteration 2;
HW4 (Friday)
Oct 15 Mon *Project Design Reviews;
Project Implementation Lab
   
Oct 17 Wed Refactoring    
Oct 22 Mon Refactoring; Coding Idioms HW5: Refactoring  
Oct 24 Wed *Project Implementation Lab    
Oct 29 Mon Design Patterns Project Iteration 4 Iteration 3
Oct 31 Wed Design Patterns HW6: Design Patterns HW5
Nov 5 Mon *Project Implementation Lab    
Nov 7 Wed *Project Implementation and Presentation-planning Lab   HW6
Nov 12 Mon *Project Overview Presentations    
Nov 14 Wed *Project Implementation Lab Project Iteration 5 Iteration 4 (16th)
Nov 19-25   Thanksgiving Break
Nov 26 Mon *Project Implementation Lab; quiz group studying    
Nov 28 Wed *In-class quiz    
Dec 3 Mon *Project Implementation Lab    
Dec 5 Wed *Project Implementation Lab Project Iteration 6 Iteration 5 (7th)
Dec
17-18
M-T     Project demos
Dec 19 Wed     Iteration 6
Peer Reviews

Tutorial session topics

The course requires the use of many tools in the projects. We will offer tutorials on the happy and somewhat-happy path tools, see The office hours spreadsheet for a list of tutorial topics/dates/times (and, online versions in some cases).